My Toronto Bucket List

Since moving to Toronto three years ago, I’ve been whittling away at my “Toronto Bucket List”. Admittedly, for the last year or so, I’ve not been thinking about the “things I need to do in Toronto” as it very much started to feel like my home, and we all know that you rarely go sightseeing when you’re “home”. There are still a bevy of things I want to do before leaving this glorious city, though, and have set the goal of having my list completed by May 30, 2010. I plan to blog about each thing that I do from the list, just like I’ve been doing repeatedly* for the last three years. Ahem.

So, in no particular order, here’s my list of things to do before leaving Toronto^. If you see anything I’m missing, let me know! I don’t want to leave this city with any regrets!

Go up the CN tower
Niagara Falls/Journey Behind the Falls
U of T Art Centre
Campbell House
Walk High Park
Attend a Toronto FC game**
Tour Osgoode Hall
Tour the wineries in Prince Edward County (or at least drink a bunch of wines^^ from there ;-))
Ride the entire subway line and take pictures of each station
Go to Bulk Barn
Go to Body Blitz

The Don Valley Brickworks/Taylor Creek Park Completed 4/18/10
See a play at the Stratford Festival
Hockey Hall of Fame Completed 5/15/10
Design Exchange Completed 6/4/10
Redpath Sugar Museum Completed 5/29/10
CBC Museum Completed 6/4/10
Shop the St Lawrence Market Completed 3/27/10
Tour the Toronto Stock Exchange — Not a possibility, but I did see the original TSX trading floor at Design Exchange! So that counts. 🙂 Completed 6/4/10
Visit Allan Gardens Conservatory Completed 4/10/10
Check out Doors Open Toronto Completed 5/29/10
Spend time at the Leslie Street Spit Completed 5/24/10
Check out Wychwood Art Barns Completed 6/5/10
See the Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art
Completed 6/5/10
Skate down the Rideau Canal — considering we had 1.25 cold days in Toronto this year and the Rideau was barely frozen and is unlikely to freeze prior to May 30, I am gonna go out on a limb and say that I won’t complete this one. But I’m adding it anyway, primarily because I’m the boss here. Check the URL, yo.

Eat/Drink at:
Splendido
Harbord Room
Origin
Cowbell
Jet Fuel Completed 4/10/10
Five Doors North
Dessert Trends Completed 5/28/10
Guu Izakaya***
Swan
Leslie Jones Completed Completed 5/27/10
Ruby Watchco Completed 6/3/10
Sidecar Completed 5/22/10
Negroni Completed 5/23/10
Mothers Dumplings Completed 4/9/10
Cameron House
Roof Lounge at the Park Hyatt
Communists Daughter
Sweaty Betty’s
Bar Chef
Eat noodles at Pacific Mall

* Well, not doing such a great job of. I’ve done waaaaaay more stuff than I’ve blogged about, much to my chagrin. Ten lashes for moi!
** I’ve been to nearly every other professional sporting event in Canada except TFC. I’ve been to a Leafs game, Senators game, Canucks game and Raptors game, but never a soccer game.
*** I ate at Guu in Vancouver, but I’ve heard it’s different in T.O., so I’m gonna give it a whirl here.
^ The most amazing city that is the love of my life! For truth. 😉
^^ Like Norman Hardie. Oh my, his Pinot Noir is so good.

1 Comment

Filed under Toronto

One response to “My Toronto Bucket List

  1. alison s

    You’re missing Riverdale Farm! Also, Ashbridge’s Bay (the beaches), touring the Distillery District and having chocolate at Soma and beer at Mill St., and eating breakfast at Bonjour Brioche or Lady Marmalade!

Leave a Reply

