A Picture’s Worth A Thousand Words (Day 21)

Photographs have always, always, always been a gigantic part of my life. Since getting my first pink round Le Clic when I was about 13, I have been a serious photo-taking shutterbug. Thumbing through the stills in Life Magazine always fascinated me and to this day, I love photos way more than video. Photography exhibits are my absolute fave and I could easily stare at a photograph all day — taking in its single moment in time; the looks on faces, whether those of shock or happiness or discovery; and the natural and built environments. I’ve passed by the Toronto Archives on many an occasion. I’d heard it was lovely, but was not at all prepared for the bigosity of it! It’s an enormous space filled with huge range of documents and photographs documenting the city’s heritage. The best part is that you can either spend tons1 of time in the building proper or you can plop down on your sofa in your comfy pajamas like I am right now and surf the archives in the privacy of your own home! There’s just nothing better than using all the tools in the nerd kingdom to make life easier. Le happy sigh.

I had an interest in seeing photos from the area of Toronto in which I’ve lived for the last two and a half years, and there were a plethora of them available. It’s so cool to see how cities change and grow, and Toronto is no different. While you may not know the area, I hope you appreciate the photos as much as I have.

As an aside, I checked to see if the city of Houston had a similar archive, but was unable to find anything. Rather, they have an archive of only modern day photos, but that is definitely worth a look.

1 or “tonnes”, if you’re Canadian

 Spadina at Front Streets, ca 1960.

A TTC bus, ca 1935. Not much has changed. 🙂

Looking east from the Fairmont Royal York hotel, ca 1930

Lake Ontario in the Beach, frozen. 1924.


Queen Street West at Spadina, ca 1935


Front at Peter Streets, 1926

Leave a comment

Filed under photos, Toronto

Leave a Reply

