Why People Live in Canada

I have a prescription that I have filled each month. When I went into the pharmacy to reorder it, as I had silly-ly thrown away the label the month prior, the pharmacist asked if Iwanted to get more than one at a time. Of course, I said absolutely! After all, who wants to be bothered with walking two blocks to the drugstore every month? 

I picked up the prescriptions today and get this — I paid $2 for a 3 month supply of a brand name drug. Yes, you heard me correctly and yes, you can do the math. That brings the annual cost to a whopping $8. I was paying $15 per month in the States, or $180 a year. Of course, when you think about it, I’m definitely paying the same amount for the drug, if not more, through the exorbitantly high taxes I pay in Canada. As a matter of fact, gas is currently hovering around $5.24 a gallon, which Imay or may not have previously mentioned. I’m still in electroshock therapy from that and my therapist has told me that talking and journaling about the excess is the only way to remedy it. But I digress.

Still, a very happy girl I am when I can pick up a 3 month supply of something for $2. I skipped away like a giddy schoolgirl on the last day of class – “you’re the one that i want…ooh, ooh, ooh, honey.”

Eight dollars for a one year supply of drugs. This is why people live in canada.

Leave a comment

Filed under Canada

Leave a Reply

